Athena alternatives,
by what you need.
Athena gives you one full-time executive assistant for $3,000 a month on a 12-month commitment, or $3,600 a month on a 90-day commitment, then month to month. The alternatives split by what you need: a full-time person you pick (Pearl Talent, Persona Talent), fewer hours (Boldly, BELAY, Time etc), a dedicated assistant for less (Magic, Wing), a hire of your own abroad (Somewhere), software (Lindy), or the job you posted, done (Allying).

How this page is written
Allying publishes this page and is one of the options on it. Every price and term below comes from each company's own pages, with the day we read it in the sources, so you can check it. Where a company does not publish a price, we say so rather than guess.
What Athena does well
Athena's product is one person: a dedicated, full-time executive assistant, vetted, trained, equipped and employed by Athena, with performance managed on Athena's side and a different assistant if things do not improve [2]. Selection is the pitch: the top 1% of thirty to sixty thousand monthly applicants, an in-person bootcamp and ongoing training [3]. The work runs from the inbox and the calendar to household, family and personal wellness [3], forty hours a week, from assistants located overseas who work your schedule [1]; Athena names Colombia, Guatemala, Kenya and the Philippines [4].
Is Athena worth $3,000 a month?
For the buyer it is built for, it can be: an executive who wants one person for work and personal life, for years, and can commit before the work starts. Over a year that is $36,000 on the 12-month plan, or $43,200 on the monthly plan [1]. Athena is candid about fit: it tells anyone who wants short-term help, or thinks an AI assistant can do what they need, to look elsewhere [5]. If what you need is a job done (the inbox and calendar of a busy owner, customer emails, the phones, social media), most of the options below cost less. Several start without a commitment.
The alternatives, by what you need
One full-time person you pick yourself: Pearl Talent or Persona Talent
Both sell the unit Athena sells, a vetted, remote person, full time by default. They cost about the same, with a shorter commitment. Pearl Talent places full-time professionals from the Philippines, Latin America and South Africa with US founder-led companies, from $3,000 a month by role and seniority, monthly, cancel any time, with a 30-day replacement guarantee [6] [7]; only 0.8% of applicants get through its vetting, and every hire completes a 29-hour AI training program [7]. Persona Talent recruits a dedicated team member from 98 countries, starting at $3,000 a month by quote, month to month, with no setup fee and billing only after you approve a hire; you meet the finalists and make the final call, and it can also find someone for you to hire onto your own payroll [8] [9]. Choose one of them when you want a person you interviewed, beyond the executive assistant role, without a 12-month commitment.
Fewer hours: Boldly, BELAY or Time etc
If the work is ten to forty hours a month, not forty a week, you can buy hours. Time etc starts at $390 a month for ten hours, with US-based assistants, hours that roll over and cancel any time [12]. Boldly sells experienced US-based executive assistants, employed by Boldly, from $2,600 for 40 hours a month [10]. BELAY runs month to month, not on a long-term contract, with support that typically begins at 45 hours a month, for a flat monthly fee quoted on a call [11].
A dedicated assistant for less: Magic or Wing
Magic lists a dedicated assistant at $270 a week part time (20 hours a week) or $540 a week full time (40 hours a week), billed every four weeks [13]. Wing lists a general virtual assistant at $999 a month full time (160 hours) or $699 part time (80 hours), live in 48 hours [14].
A hire of your own, abroad: Somewhere
Somewhere recruits a person abroad for you to hire directly, for a one-time fee that is a percentage of their first-year salary (the percentage is not published), or on a monthly plan, with example assistants at $1,200 to $2,200 a month [15]. Choose it when you want the person on your own team for the long run.
Software you run yourself: Lindy
Lindy is software that works across the tools you connect, from $29.99 a month per user, by credits [16]. It suits someone who wants to set up and run their own automations.
The job you posted, done: Allying
Allying does the job a business has already posted, as an employee or contractor, for 30% of the salary in your posting, a month, with a monthly minimum for each job: $1,380 a month on a $55,000 posting (about 30% of the posted salary, after a free week). The first week of the work is done before any conversation; if you go ahead, you book a short call and add a card, and nothing is charged. Your free week starts with the call, and the first charge comes on day 8. A named specialist answers for the work, every action is on the record, and one note stops it. Choose it when you posted a job (admin, customer emails, the phones, social media) and want the job done rather than a person's hours.
The prices side by side
| Option | What you get | Price on their page | Commitment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Athena | One full-time executive assistant, employed by Athena | $3,000 a month, or $3,600 a month on the 90-day plan | 12 months, or 90 days then monthly | [1] |
| Pearl Talent | One full-time remote professional, managed | From $3,000 a month, by quote | Monthly, cancel any time | [6] |
| Persona Talent | One dedicated team member, or a placement onto your payroll | From $3,000 a month, by quote | Month to month | [8] |
| Boldly | A US-based executive assistant, by the hour | From $2,600 for 40 hours a month | Not stated on the pricing page | [10] |
| BELAY | An assistant, for a flat monthly fee | Not published; quoted on a call | Month to month | [11] |
| Time etc | A US-based assistant, by the hour | From $390 for 10 hours a month | Cancel any time | [12] |
| Magic | A dedicated assistant | $270 a week part time, $540 a week full time | Billed every four weeks | [13] |
| Wing | A dedicated general assistant | $699 a month part time, $999 full time | Not stated on the page we read | [14] |
| Somewhere | A person abroad you hire directly | A one-time fee (percentage not published), or $1,200 to $2,200 a month on demand | Your own hire | [15] |
| Lindy | Software you run | From $29.99 a month per user | By plan | [16] |
| Allying | The job you posted, done, with a named specialist | 30% of the salary in your posting, a month, with a monthly minimum for each job | Month to month after a free week; stop with one note | Pricing |
We checked Athena, Pearl Talent and Persona Talent on 2026-09-25, and the others on 2026-09-18. Prices and plan names change; the links in the sources are the ones to trust.
When Athena is still the right choice
- You want one full-time person for the whole of your working life, calendar, travel and household included.
- You can commit to a year at $3,000 a month, or to 90 days at $3,600 a month, before you see the work.
- You want the assistant employed and managed by the company that trained them.
- You want a person doing the work itself, and your tasks are personal as much as professional.
More comparisons
Questions people ask
What is the cheapest alternative to Athena?
For a full-time dedicated assistant, Wing lists $999 a month for 160 hours and Magic $540 a week for 40 hours a week, billed every four weeks. Somewhere shows example assistants on demand at $1,200 to $2,200 a month. For fewer hours, Time etc starts at $390 a month for ten hours. For a posted job done rather than a person's hours, Allying is 30% of the salary in the posting, a month: about $1,380 on a $55,000 executive assistant posting.
Is there an Athena alternative without a long commitment?
Yes. Pearl Talent and Persona Talent are month to month, BELAY runs month to month, Time etc says you can cancel any time, and Allying is month to month and stops with one note. Athena's own flexible plan is $3,600 a month on a 90-day commitment, then month to month.
What is the difference between Athena and Pearl Talent?
Both place one vetted, full-time, remote person for about $3,000 a month. Athena sells executive assistants only, employed by Athena, on a 12-month commitment or a 90-day one. Pearl places full-time professionals across many roles from the Philippines, Latin America and South Africa with US founder-led companies, monthly, cancel any time, with a 30-day replacement guarantee.
What is the difference between Athena and Persona Talent?
Athena gives you an executive assistant employed by Athena on a 12-month or 90-day commitment. Persona Talent recruits a dedicated team member across many roles from 98 countries, starting at $3,000 a month by quote, month to month, and can also find someone for you to hire onto your own payroll.
Where are Athena's assistants based?
Athena says its assistants are located overseas and work on a schedule set by your needs, and names Colombia, Guatemala, Kenya and the Philippines.
Does Athena use AI?
Athena's FAQ says its assistants get an Enterprise ChatGPT license and calls AI a partner, not a replacement: the work is done by the assistant.
Hiring for this job
Your contact for anything on this page is Mae Santos, co-founder of Allying: hello@allying.com.
The work is done with AI and overseen by a named specialist who answers for it.
Sources
- Athena, FAQs. Read on 2026-09-25. "$3,000 per month with a 12-month commitment, billed monthly (most popular)"; "$3,600 per month after initial 90-day Commitment, billed monthly (most flexible)"; "Athena EAs are located overseas but work on a schedule determined by your needs."; "Every Athena EA works 40 hours per week"; "EAs are provided with an Enterprise ChatGPT license"; "At Athena, we see AI as a partner, not a replacement."
- Athena, Pricing. Read on 2026-09-25. "One dedicated, full-time EA"; "Vetted, trained, device equipped, and employed by Athena"; "EA performance management"; a different Athena EA "if things don't improve"; the same two prices behind a Monthly and Annual toggle.
- Athena, home page. Read on 2026-09-25. "Top 1% of 30–60k monthly applicants"; "Rigorous in-person bootcamp + ongoing upskilling"; work listed from "Email management and inbox zero" and "Calendar management and scheduling" to "Household & family" and "Personal wellness".
- Athena, About. Read on 2026-09-25. "based in the US with deep investment in our Executive Partner (XP) communities in Colombia, Guatemala, Kenya, and the Philippines".
- Athena, Why Athena. Read on 2026-09-25. "Athena is not for everybody. If you are looking for help short-term, think an AI assistant can offer you what you need, aren't willing to put the hard work in to increase your productivity, or don't think our pricing is a completely obvious investment, we recommend looking elsewhere."
- Pearl Talent, Pricing. Read on 2026-09-25. "Managed Talent Services", "From $3,000 /mo", "Rate varies by role and seniority - book a call to get a quote", "Monthly, Cancel anytime", "30 Day Replacement Guarantee".
- Pearl Talent, FAQs. Read on 2026-09-25. "We find, vet, and place full-time remote talent from the Philippines, Latin America, and South Africa with U.S.-based founder-led teams"; "Only 0.8% of applicants make it through"; "Every hire also completes Pearl's 29-hour AI training and certification program before they're placed with you"; "If a hire doesn't work out within the first 30 days, Pearl will find you a replacement at no additional cost."
- Persona Talent, Pricing. Read on 2026-09-25. "Get a full-time, fully dedicated Persona team member starting at $3,000 a month"; custom pricing by "Role Complexity", "Specialized Skills Required", "Seniority Level", "Industry Expertise"; "Month-to-month contracts for your changing business needs."
- Persona Talent, FAQ. Read on 2026-09-25. "no setup fees or hidden costs"; "billing starts only after you approve a hire"; "you'll meet curated finalists and make the final call"; engagements "full-time, part-time, hourly, permanent placements, temporary coverage"; talent from 98 countries.
- Boldly, Pricing. Read on 2026-09-18. 40 hours a month "$2600/mo", 60 hours "$3900/mo", 80 hours "$5200/mo", 100 hours "$6500/mo"; the home page: "Boldly EAs are US-based, Boldly W2 employees" with "10+ years' experience".
- BELAY, FAQ. Read on 2026-09-18. "Support runs month-to-month, not on a long-term contract"; "support typically begins at 45 hours a month"; the fee is quoted on a call; no price is published.
- Time etc, Pricing. Read on 2026-09-18. Ten hours "$390 /month"; twenty hours "$760 /month"; forty hours "$1480 /month"; sixty hours "$2160 /month"; "Unused hours rollover"; "cancel any time"; the home page: "100% U.S. based Virtual Assistants".
- Magic, Pricing. Read on 2026-09-18. Part Time "20 hours/week" at "$270/week"; Full Time "40 hours/week" at "$540/week"; "All plans are billed every 4 weeks".
- Wing, General Virtual Assistant. Read on 2026-09-18. "GVA Full-Time" "$999/Month", "160 Hours per month"; "GVA Part-Time" "$699/Month", "80 Hours per month"; assistants "live in 48 hours".
- Somewhere, Pricing. Read on 2026-09-18. Direct hire for a "One-time fee (percentage of their first-year salary)", the percentage not published; on-demand example assistants at $1,200 to $2,200 a month.
- Lindy, Pricing. Read on 2026-09-18. Plus "$29.99 /mo per user" with "3k credits / user / mo"; Pro "$99.99 /mo per user"; Max "$199.99 /mo per user"; Enterprise custom.